Our Scholarship Recipients at Hats On 2019

Gwendolyn Lee, past 14th National President, with Chapter President, Jacqueline Lewis along with scholarship sponsors and South Suburban College recipients – Adeline Hodge, Cherise Miskel, and Jasmine Carter – at Hats On 2019, Chair, Joyce Carter, Co-Chair Drain Lewis


The South Suburban Chicago (IL) Chapter of The Links, Incorporated awarded eight renewable college scholarships to recent high school graduates from Chicago’s Southland high schools.

Each scholar was awarded $2,000 for the 2018-2019 academic year. The awards are renewable for three additional years provided the student is making progress toward a degree.

Current recipients are:

  • Kayla Lynn Bell – Grand Valley State University

  • Kristen Aleece Crowe – University of Kentucky

  • Simbiat Adeola Eji-Lasisi – University of Illinois

  • D’Anna Christin Hayes – Eastern Michigan University

  • Amari LaChey Sherise Henry – Drake University

  • Emanuella Claudia Houngbo – University of Michigan

  • Darius Moore – University of Michigan

  • Jeffery Darnell Whatley – Ball State University

  • Jasmine Carter – South Suburban College

  • Adeline Hodge – South Suburban College

  • Cherise Miskel – South Suburban College

Funds for the scholarships are raised annually at our annual holiday event and our dedicated fundraiser the Hats On Scholarship Luncheon. Find out more.